Profile

My Family

My name is Paula Button and I am an Ofsted registered Childminder. I live with my husband, Jonathan, and our two sons, Arren, who was born in February 2007 and Kayden who was born in October 2009. We are originally fromSouth Africa, but have been living in theUKsince 2003. Jonathan is the IT Systems Analyst for a local insurance company and I was a primary school teacher and Remedial Therapist until Arren was born. We also share our home with ‘Nugget’ our cat, ‘Bippity’ our lop eared rabbit and Bella our friendly little Shih Tzu! I am registered with Ofsted to care for 6 children (including my own children). I comply with all requirements relevant to Childminders as laid down by OFSTED.

My Aims

I aim to provide quality childcare by offering a child-centred approach in a home setting that enables the child to feel happy, comfortable and secure whilst fulfilling their potential. I will provide a warm, safe, friendly, home environment with a family atmosphere in which children feel valued, can play, learn and develop.

Each child will have the opportunity to have experiences and take part in activities which will help them learn new things and develop new skills. Each child will be treated as an individual, taking into account specific characteristics, abilities and needs.

Children will receive a lot of individual attention whilst enjoying interaction with others both in and outside of my setting. I appreciate that parents are the most important people in a child’s life and therefore consult with parents on all aspects of their child’s care.

Setting

The childcare setting is my family home which is a four bedroom house with a secure, enclosed rear back garden and a dedicated playroom with free flow access to the garden. Much of the activity will take place downstairs. Our home is a smoke free environment.

Qualifications

  •              Bachelor of Primary Education
  •              Advanced certificate in Special Educational Needs
  •              Introduction to Childminding Practice
  •              First Aid Paediatric Certificate
  •              EYFS training
  •              Child Protection
  •              Speech and language development
  •              Food hygiene and handling
  •              Childminding Business Management
  •              Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

Insurance

My public liability insurance is held with Morten Michell. I comply with all the requirements laid down by the insurance company. I have appropriate car insurance for business use and always ensure that children are restrained in a safety seat or with seat belts suitable for their age/weight.  I have my carseats checked regularly by the Torbay Road Safety Team